Articles

Republican Liberty Caucus interviews Gary Johnson

In Deficit, Economy, Entitlements, Federal Reserve, Foreign policy, Gary Johnson, Gary Johnson 2012, GOP, Government spending, Health care, Inflation, Interviews, Our America, Tea Party on January 19, 2010 by Josiah Schmidt

Posted at the RLC.org website today:

Langbert: Governor Johnson, it is a privilege to interview you.  I teach business administration at Brooklyn College.  What are three things that you learned from your business career that could be applied to the federal government or that you did apply as governor of New Mexico?

Johnson: I started my company in 1974 and I was the only employee.  In 1994 we had 1,000 employees.  Things that I learned and applied as governor include the importance of hiring good people; cutting mistakes short; and sticking to basic principles.

I’m good at hiring people and have a great track record.  But mistakes are inevitable. When you make a mistake in hiring, you need to cut it short.   As governor, I avoided political appointments as much as possible.  There was one instance where I was forced to make one, and I closely monitored the individual’s performance.

The obvious things are most important. The basic principles:  being on time, sticking to principles, telling people to tell the truth.  As governor, I sat down in cabinet meetings and I told people to tell the truth.

Read more >

Leave a Reply

